I Joined AWS

Why customer obsession and impact matters

DEV.BIZ.OPS
7 min readJul 23, 2020

Sometimes people can see things in you that you do not see yourself. That was the case with my friend Nelson who said the following to me:

“I can see you in the role.”

It was the beginning of February when he shared a link over LinkedIn about an open role at AWS. He had recently joined Amazon Web Services from a bank and seemed pretty happy. While I was grateful for the consideration though, I enjoyed the freedom of startups. What could AWS possibly offer?

The speed of light
A visual representation of my onboarding and consumption of information at AWS.

Ironically, jumping into the startup world was not something I had expected over a decade ago. I had been comfortable working in bigger, established firms doing management consulting and enterprise sales. I had gotten progressively more senior roles, better salary, and the work was relatively interesting and intellectually stimulating.

Something always gnawed at me though, the desire to experiment and test crazy ideas. I had some of that freedom in my consulting days, crafting several new service offerings and collaborating with customers on new solutions. Even at places like Siebel, thinking big often lead me to better outcomes.

Eventually my quest for more money and bigger roles led me to a “big enterprise tech” company. There was the promise of…

--

--

DEV.BIZ.OPS

Thoughts on developers, digital transformation, startups, community building & engineering culture. Author is Mark Birch @ AWS 👉 https://twitter.com/marksbirch